Mauritius

Mauritius is located in the Indian Ocean, almost a thousand kilometres from Madagascar. The island was spared from human influences and was home of the dodo, a chubby bird. In 1507, the first colonial masters raised their flag and the island was gradually settled. Unfortunately, the dodo is extinct today and only adorns the emblem of Mauritius. 

In Mauritius, since the late 19th century, sugar cane is industrially cultivated. And as the enterprising Britons controlled the destiny of Mauritius for a long time, they also brought their extensive sugar know-how from the Caribbean. One of their experiences was the processing of sugar cane waste or excess production into rum. Various distilleries sprouted from the ground, evenly distributed over the island. Of these, Labourdonnais, Chamarel and St. Aubin are still prominent today. And that's where it gets unusual for the first time: a British island with French names? Throughout history, the island has been home to British, French, Portuguese, Dutch and half a million "contract servants", mainly from India. Depending on the region, the island is therefore Dutch, Portuguese, French, British or even Indian. And although the French era is only a minor part of the history, French as a language as well as the "Rhum Agricole" has become established. A significant example of this unusual linguistic hybrid is the Rum Castle and plantations of the Labourdonnais distillery, which was built and developed by a British man. 

The rum of the distillery Labourdonnais is made from sugar cane juice, like almost every rum on the island. Molasses-based rums are historically a big exception in Mauritius. Labourdonnais delights with bottlings of different ages. The most popular on the island are the young, filtered varieties and the flavoured rum liqueurs. Lemon grass, raisins, cloves, cinnamon, oranges, vanilla, coffee or ginger are used by Labourdonnais as well as by its two biggest competitors. On the other hand, the long-stored rums tend to score higher on the export market. Thus vintage bottlings from former cognac barrels or single cask bottlings are the flagships of the Labourdonnais distillery.  

 

TOP
rum-order-online

Mauritius DODO White Rum

DODO White Rum is a white rum from Mauritius, made from 100% sugar cane....
CHF 45,00
incl. 7.7 % tax, excl. Shipping costs
A new premium rum from the roman...

Beach House Spiced Rum

A new premium rum from the romantic holiday island of Mauritius comes to...
CHF 49,00
incl. 7.7 % tax, excl. Shipping costs
Dodo-Rum-Dark

Mauritius DODO Dark Rum

The Mauritius DODO Dark Rum is a brown rum from Mauritius, the famous ho...
CHF 49,00
incl. 7.7 % tax, excl. Shipping costs
Zaka-Mauritius-Rum

ZAKA Mauritius Rum

ZAKA Rum is a collection of unique, rare and mysterious rums produced in...
CHF 59,00
incl. 7.7 % tax, excl. Shipping costs
Mauritius-Dodo-Rum

Mauritius DODO Dark Rum - Gift Bottle

This beautiful bottle in the shape of a dodo contains the brown Dodo Rum...
CHF 90,00
incl. 7.7 % tax, excl. Shipping costs
Show 1 to 5 (from a total of 5 new products)

Mauritius

Mauritius liegt im Indischen Ozean, knapp tausend Kilometer von Madagaskar entfernt. Von menschlichen Einflüssen verschont war die Insel Heimat des Dodos, einem rundlichen Vogel. 1507 hissten die ersten Kolonialherren ihre Flagge und die Insel wurde nach und nach besiedelt. Der Dodo ist heute leider ausgestorben und ziert heute nur noch das Wappen von Mauritius.

Auf Mauritius wird seit dem späten 19. Jahrhundert Zuckerrohr industriell angebaut. Und da die umtriebigen Briten lange die Geschicke von Mauritius lenkten, brachten sie auch ihr umfangreiches Zucker-Knowhow aus der Karibik mit. Eine der Erfahrungen war die Weiterverarbeitung von Zuckerrohrabfall oder Produktionsübermengen zu Rum. So sprossen verschiedene Destillerien aus dem Boden, gleichmässig über die Insel verteilt. Davon sind heute noch Labourdonnais, Chamarel und St. Aubin prominent erhalten. Und da wird es schon zum ersten Mal ungewöhnlich: Eine britische Insel mit französischen Namen? Im Laufe der Geschichte beherbergte die Insel Briten, Franzosen, Portugiesen, Niederländer und eine halbe Million „Vertragsknechte“ vor allem aus Indien. Je nach Region ist die Insel demnach niederländisch, portugiesisch, französisch, britisch oder auch indisch geprägt. Und obwohl die französische Ära nur den kleineren Teil der Historie ausmacht, hat sich sowohl Französisch als Sprache, als auch der «Rhum Agricole» durchgesetzt. Bezeichnendes Beispiel dieses ungewöhnlichen, sprachlichen Hybriden ist das Rum-Schlösschen samt Plantagen der Destillerie Labourdonnais, welches von einem Briten auf- und ausgebaut wurde.

Der Rum der Destillerie Labourdonnais wird wie fast jeder Rum der Insel aus Zuckerrohrsaft gewonnen. Melassebasierte Rums sind in Mauritius historisch eine grosse Ausnahme. Labourdonnais begeistert mit Abfüllungen unterschiedlichen Alters. Auf der Insel am beliebtesten sind neben den jungen, gefilterten Sorten auch die aromatisierten Rumliköre. Zitronengras, Rosinen, Nelken, Zimt, Orangen, Vanille, Kaffee oder Ingwer werden von Labourdonnais genauso verwendet wie von den zwei grössten Mitbewerbern. Im Export hingegen punkten eher die lange gelagerten Rumsorten. So sind Jahrgangsabfüllungen aus ehemaligen Cognac-Fässern oder Einzelfassabfüllungen die Flaggschiffe der Destillerie Labourdonnais.  

 

TOP
dodo-rum-online-kaufen

Mauritius DODO White Rum

Der DODO White Rum ist ein weisser Rum aus Mauritius, hergestellt zu 100...
CHF 45,00
inkl. 7.7 % MwSt., zzgl. Versand
Ein neuer Premium Rum aus der ro...

Beach House Spiced Rum

Ein neuer Premium Rum aus der romantischen Ferieninsel Mauritius kommt i...
CHF 49,00
inkl. 7.7 % MwSt., zzgl. Versand
Dodo-Rum

Mauritius DODO Dark Rum

Der Mauritius DODO Dark Rum ist ein brauner Rum aus Mauritius, der bekan...
CHF 49,00
inkl. 7.7 % MwSt., zzgl. Versand
Zaka Mauritius Rum

ZAKA Mauritius Rum

ZAKA Rum ist eine Kollektion von einzigartigen, seltenen und geheimnisvo...
CHF 59,00
inkl. 7.7 % MwSt., zzgl. Versand
Mauritius-Dodo-Rum

Mauritius DODO Dark Rum - Geschenkflasche

Diese wunderschöne Flasche in der Form eines Dodos beinhaltet den braune...
CHF 90,00
inkl. 7.7 % MwSt., zzgl. Versand
Zeige 1 bis 5 (von insgesamt 5 neuen Artikeln)